Online. On campus. On your terms.

FACULTY

M.A. Communication & Leadership Studies

Faculty

Gonzaga’s foundational Jesuit ethos, paired with faculty who have a PhD in the field of Communication & Leadership or have an M.A. degree and have achieved eminence as a practitioner of communication, prepare students to communicate more effectively, improve interpersonal relationships and grow leadership skills to better serve their organizations. Our caring faculty will shape and guide you to your very best – professionally and personally.

About our Faculty and Staff

virtual campus

John Caputo, PhD
Walter S.J. Ong Scholar
Professor
caputo@gonzaga.edu

Dr. John Caputo is Professor and Chair of the Master’s Program in Communication and Leadership Studies at Gonzaga University and the Walter Ong S.J. Scholar. He founded the MA Program in 2004.  Dr. Caputo earned his Ph.D. from the Claremont Graduate School and University Center. He has been teaching communication courses for more than 30 years and has appeared on radio and television news and discussion programs. His areas of expertise include communication theory, intercultural and interpersonal communication, and media and social values. He is the author of seven books: Effective Communication Handbook; Communicating Effectively: Linking Thought with Expression; Dimensions of Communication; Interpersonal Communication: Competency Through Critical Reasoning, which was co- authored with Bud Hazel and Colleen McMahon; Public Speaking Handbook: A Liberal Arts Perspective with Bud Hazel; McDonaldization Revisited: Critical Essays on Consumer Culture which he co-edited with Mark Alfino and Robin Wynyard for Praeger Press and his newest book, Effective Communication. John Caputo has written more than 25 articles in professional journals, been honored as a Visiting Scholar In-Residence at the University of Kent at Canterbury, England. Dr. Caputo Directs the Gonzaga-in-Cagli Project, a cultural immersion multi-media program in Italy each summer. He has been honored with Master Teacher Awards by the Western States Communication Association and the University of Texas at Austin and has received an Exemplary Faculty Award from Gonzaga University.

virtual campus

Heather Crandall, PhD
Associate Professor

crandallm@gonzaga.edu

Dr. Crandall earned an interdisciplinary Ph.D. from Washington State University. Her areas of concentration are American Studies, Communication, and Rhetoric. She is specifically interested in visual rhetoric and social change, media literacy, and communication pedagogy.  Heather teaches courses in theorizing communication, small group communication, interpersonal communication, rhetoric, organizational communication, and public speaking.

virtual campus

Carolyn Cunningham, PhD
Assistant Professor
cunninghamc@gonzaga.edu

Dr. Cunningham completed her Ph.D. in the Department of Radio-Television-Film where she also earned a doctoral certificate in Women\’s and Gender Studies. Her research areas include media and technological literacy, social media, the digital divide, nonprofit communication, youth studies, and qualitative research. She is the editor of Social Networking and Impression Management: Self-Presentation in the Digital Age (Lexington Books, 2012). Her work has been published in New Media & Society, Journal of Children and Media, as well as several book chapters. She teaches classes in communication theory, social dynamics of communication technology, communication teaching and pedagogy, and public speaking. She is a board member of the Northwest Alliance for Responsible Media, http://nwaresponsiblemedia.org/

virtual campus

Michael Hazel, PhD
Associate Professor and Chair
hazelm@gonzaga.edu

Dr. Michael Hazel is an associate professor in Communication and Leadership Studies at Gonzaga University and has been teaching for the COML program since 2004.  Dr. Hazel earned his Ph.D. and M.A. from Washington State University and also taught at Immaculate Heart College in Kagoshima, Japan for five years. His areas of focus include communication apprehension, organizational communication, and the scholarship of teaching and learning. He is the author or co-author of eleven peer reviewed publications, including works published in Communication Education and Communication Research Reports, and has earned two top four competitive paper awards from the Communication Apprehension Division of the National Communication Association.  Dr. Hazel has also been honored with nine teaching related awards, the most recent being an Exemplary Faculty Award from Gonzaga University. He has served as President of the Northwest Communication Association and currently serves on the Board of Regents at Gonzaga University. He teaches courses in organizational communication, research methods, thesis writing, and the on campus practicum course.

virtual campus

Nobuya Inagaki
Lecturer
inagaki@gonzaga.edu

Mr. Inagaki’s teaching and research interests include the social significance of digital communication technologies, international communication, and research methods. He is currently completing his doctoral dissertation (University of Texas at Austin, Radio TV Film Department) with a study of the social geography of communication technologies in rural areas. Recent publications include: “Communicating the Impact of Communication for Development” (The World Bank Working Paper #120, 2007), and “Reconfiguring public Internet access in Austin, TX” (with Martha Fuentes-Bautista, Government Information, Quarterly, 2006).

virtual campus

Pavel Shlossberg, PhD
Assistant Professor
shlossbergp@gonzaga.edu

Dr. Shlossberg completed his Ph.D. in the Doctoral Communications program at Columbia University in New York City. Prior to his appointment at Gonzaga, he had been a postdoctoral fellow at the University of New Mexico and a lecturer at the University of Virginia. As part of the research for his dissertation in the Ph.D. program at Columbia University, Professor Shlossberg investigated social justice in the context of indigenous issues in Mexico — work that aligns with the global focus of the M.A. in Communication and Leadership program. This work is now a book under contract with the University of Arizona Press. His work has appeared in several journals, including Cultural Studies, Visual Anthropology Review, and Souls. He has also received Top Papers Awards at NCA and ECA. Professor Schlossberg’s expertise in Latin American Studies, diversity, and ethics help inform his teaching in the COML program. He currently teaches COML 506 International and Intercultural Communication, COML 503 Communication and Ethics, and COML 508 Theorizing Communication.

 

Adjunct Faculty

Howard Ayers ayresj@gonzaga.edu
Carole Baumgartner baumgartner@gonzaga.edu
Giovanni Caputo caputog@gonzaga.edu
Denise Casey caseyd@gonzaga.edu
Andy Ciofalo ciofalo@gonzaga.edu
Cher Desautel desautel@gonzaga.edu
David Givens givens@gonzaga.edu
Sara Johnston johnstons@gonzaga.edu
Alex Kuskis Kuskis@gonzaga.edu
Robert Leonard leonard2@gonzaga.edu
Larry Massey massey@gonzaga.edu
Kris Morehouse morehouse@gonzaga.edu
Diana Osborne osborned@gonzaga.edu
Michael Poutiatine poutiatine@gonzaga.edu
Kipp Preble Preble@gonzaga.edu
Kathleen Synder snyderk@gonzaga.edu
Jeffrey Stafford stafford@gonzaga.edu
Pete Tormey tormey@gu.gonzaga.edu
Paul Mark Wadleigh wadleigh@gonzaga.edu